Politiken's former editor-in-chief, Tøger Seidenfaden, who died in January 2011.

Politiken's former editor-in-chief, Tøger Seidenfaden, who died in January 2011.

News in English

Seidenfaden Prize to Danish-Israeli historian

Ron Pundak has been awarded the Tøger Seidenfaden Prize.

News in English

The Tøger Seidenfaden Prize, which was established in memory of Politikens late editor-in-chief, has been awarded to the Danish-Israeli historian, activist, author and journalist Ron Pundak.

Pundak has been honoured for his efforts as a central peace negotiator in the Israel-Palestine conflict and his extensive humanitarian efforts.

“Ron Pundak has shown a high level of moral integrity and civil courage both in words and actions, irrespective of whether he has approached his own people in the fight against intolerance, or when under difficult and unsafe conditions he has engaged in cross-border humanitarian work,” says Prize Committee Chairman Nader Mousavizadeh.

The Tøger Seidenfaden Prize was established in 2011 to honour those who in word and deed have continued Seidenfaden’s deep social commitment and his critical focus on intolerance against vulnerable groups, and any form of extremism.

The first prize was awarded in 2011 to Prof. Marlene Wind, head of the Centre for European Politics at Copenhagen University.

Pundak, who was the director of the Peres Center for Peace in Tel Aviv - Jaffa from 2001 to 2011, currently holds a leading position in the Palestinian-Israeli Peace NGO Forum.

“It has been important to the Prize Committee to find a winner who has not just thought and spoken, but has also acted according to these principles. Throughout a long life, Ron Pundak has insisted on tolerance, peace and co-existence between Israelis and Palestinians. He played a leading role in the Oslo process that began 20 years ago and helped formulate the two-state solution that remains the best basis for lasting peace in the Middle East, and which seems more necessary now than ever,” Mousavizadeh says.

The Tøger Seidenfaden Prize ceremony is on May 21.

FACEBOOK – Follow Politiken’s News in English

Edited by Julian Isherwood

Mest læste

  • Annonce


For abonnenter